Chaosforge Forum

• March 29, 2024, 07:39
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Tips for a new player?  (Read 5009 times)

pr0nluv3r

• Private
    • View Profile
Tips for a new player?
« on: August 16, 2007, 14:16 »

I just started playing recently so I'm not sure just how things work. I mean, I've gotten pretty far on the rare occasion with lots of luck, but for the most part I end up dead before level 10.

Any tips like what to take for the skills?

tisiphone

• Sergeant
    • View Profile
Re: Tips for a new player?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2007, 16:47 »

Hey, I’m not exactly the master but here some links to the stuff you might find useful:

http://doom.chaosforge.org/wiki/index.php?title=Thomas%27s_tips
A general guide (might be a bit out of date)
and
http://doom.chaosforge.org/wiki/index.php?title=DoomRL_Wiki
DooMRL wiki. Source of general information about DooMRL.

But if you already being to those places then here are my tips:

Always go to the Hell’s Arena Challenge and do all of it at any cost. It doesn’t take that long to get to it and for completion of it you get a chaingun (very good), rocket launcher (good for getting through walls at certain places), bugger loads of ammo, large med-pack and supercharge (sets health to 200%!). You will need to use a shotgun or a combat shotgun (preferred) on the first wave and then start searching for the chaingun when the second wave starts coming. When you get the chaingun it should be a walk in the park.

Secondly you will probably need to know that Son of a Bitch and Son of a Gun traits do not work properly (in the case of SoaB – not at all) so taking them is pointless. I also suggest getting Eagle Eye as soon as you get your chaingun.