Chaosforge Forum

• April 27, 2024, 00:57
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Hello/ AoM strategies  (Read 5085 times)

Chambz

• Private FC
    • View Profile
Hello/ AoM strategies
« on: May 28, 2008, 08:17 »

Hey everyone, I've just recently gotten into the roguelike genre when I started playing crogue on my calculator. I recently beat doomrl on ITYTD (yeah, I know) and was wondering what people do for AoM?  I usually go SoG>SoG>dualgunner then maybe eagle eye once or twice and then it varies. I guess people thought cateye was good, but I guess they changed it because I've never gotten a monster to ignore me. Anyways, last time I got right past city of skulls and ended up running out of ammo =/ I've read up on tips and tricks and have tried lots of them, but they just don't seem like they're enough to do certain things. Such as... beat AoB. I know it's been done, but I either have horrible luck or something just isn't going right.

Tl;dr:   Strategies you use, specifically for AoM. Also, great game you have here. REALLY enjoying it.

Titt

• Sergeant
    • View Profile
Re: Hello/ AoM strategies
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2008, 16:10 »

By AoM you mean Angel of Marksmanship, right? Sometimes people write AoM for Angel of Masochism.

On Angel of Marksmanship I go SoG, SoG, Dualgunner, EE, SoG, EE--sometimes taking the EE earlier, depending on the game. After that I go with some levels of SoB if I have found a good artifact pistol like the Beretta and not many mods, or two levels of Finesse and then Whizkid if I have found enough good (damage is best, speed comes next) mods that my advanced pistol is getting nearly full of mods. Once you get SoG*3, Dualgunner, and EE*2, you're set up to be deadly enough that you won't need TaN or Ironman traits, since you're probably going to be at least as deadly as a chaingun-based character until the end of the game.