Chaosforge Forum

  • April 25, 2024, 00:09
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.



Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2 3  All

Author Topic: Shell  (Read 16241 times)

Karry

  • First Lieutenant
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 206
    • View Profile
Shell
« on: December 02, 2006, 08:49 »

Since there are actually useful items in the main menu now, and lots of things to do, too, challenges, etc, i think it would be better to drop the player in the main menu after death, instead of kicking him off entirely.

Why not insert it as an option to .ini ?
Along with an option to start in fullscreen, if desired.
Logged

Karry

  • First Lieutenant
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 206
    • View Profile
Re: Shell
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2006, 09:06 »

Oh, and equipment changing is still pretty uncomfortable to do.
Logged

Kornel Kisielewicz

  • God Hand
  • Apostle
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4562
    • View Profile
    • http://chaosforge.org/
Re: Shell
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2006, 09:08 »

1) Droping the player back to the menu is not as trivial to implement as it sounds.
2) option to start fullscreen is also non-trivial -> it depends on the Windows version, and on linux it would probably not work at all.
3) What do you mean by unconfortable? Do you have any suggestions?
Logged
at your service,
Kornel Kisielewicz

Malek Deneith

  • Grand Inquisitor Emeritus
  • Grand Inquisitor
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1256
    • View Profile
Re: Shell
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2006, 09:13 »

And Geez, do we need a F.A.Q. - the "return to menu" question is asked like every other day -_-
Logged
Inquisition - saving your soul, one bolter shell at a time.
Spoiler: "Hackmaster Kills" (click to show/hide)

Kornel Kisielewicz

  • God Hand
  • Apostle
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4562
    • View Profile
    • http://chaosforge.org/
Re: Shell
« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2006, 09:22 »

Nah, you don't need to add that -- I'll add this feature to the next version :-P.
Logged
at your service,
Kornel Kisielewicz

Karry

  • First Lieutenant
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 206
    • View Profile
Re: Shell
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2006, 10:03 »

Isnt fullscreen just a call to Win functions ?

My suggestion is very simple - no need to unequip an item as a separate action. Just open up an armor menu and choose a new one. Of course, that may be a really serious limitation to work around, but...
Logged

Derek

  • Team Artist
  • Elder Chaos Guard
  • Second Lieutenant
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
    • http://www.derekyu.com
Re: Shell
« Reply #6 on: December 02, 2006, 10:04 »

3) What do you mean by unconfortable? Do you have any suggestions?

One thing that would be nice would be to drop from the equipment menu.  When you have a full inventory and you're wearing steel boots and you want to put on those new plasteel boots you found, you have to 1. drop something in your inventory, 2. pick up the plasteel boots, 3. equip them, 4. drop your steel boots, and then 5. pick up the item you dropped to make room.  5 steps!!!

You should be able to drop your steel boots straight from your equipment (with "d") and then pick up the plasteel boots.  Then it checks to see if you're wearing boots and it asks "Equip the steel boots [2/2] now? y/n" (Same with armor and weapons - if you have nothing equipped for that slot, it should ask you if you want to equip it immediately.

Example:

Code: [Select]
-------------------------------- Choose Item -----------------------------------

  [a] 10mm ammo (x20)
  [b] ...
  [c] ...

  [w] (Armor) green armor [1/1]
  [x] (Weapon) pistol (2d4) [6/6]
  [y] (Boots) steel boots [2/2]
  [z] (Prepared) pistol (2d4) [6/6]


















--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
  Choose the letter of the item you want to drop. Escape exits.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I would LOVE to see this happen. :)
Logged

Derek

  • Team Artist
  • Elder Chaos Guard
  • Second Lieutenant
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
    • http://www.derekyu.com
Re: Shell
« Reply #7 on: December 02, 2006, 10:06 »

My suggestion is very simple - no need to unequip an item as a separate action. Just open up an armor menu and choose a new one. Of course, that may be a really serious limitation to work around, but...

That's already how the game works... you select a new armor and it swaps with whatever you're currently wearing.
Logged

Karry

  • First Lieutenant
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 206
    • View Profile
Re: Shell
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2006, 11:16 »

Quote
When you have a full inventory and you're wearing steel boots and you want to put on those new plasteel boots you found, you have to 1. drop something in your inventory, 2. pick up the plasteel boots, 3. equip them, 4. drop your steel boots, and then 5. pick up the item you dropped to make room.  5 steps!!!
You're actually wrong. Situation is even worse. You would need 6 steps !!!!

1) Drop an extra item.
2) Un-equip the steel boots.
3) Drop the steel boots.
4) Pick up the plasteel boots.
5) Equip the plasteel boots.
6) Pick up your extra item.

Quote
That's already how the game works... you select a new armor and it swaps with whatever you're currently wearing.
No it doesnt. Selecting the armor slot simply un-equips whatever is in it, so you cant "swap" anything.
Logged

Blade

  • Tester
  • Elder Chaos Guard
  • Brigadier General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 691
    • View Profile
    • Upyachka
Re: Shell
« Reply #9 on: December 02, 2006, 11:26 »

No it doesnt. Selecting the armor slot simply un-equips whatever is in it, so you cant "swap" anything.
Try press "i" key, then choose armor(or boots, or weapon) you want to equip. It will swap with already equipped.
Logged
Low orbit ion cannon damaged my brain!!1
Now i'm an idiot!1 Kill me, somebody!!11

Derek

  • Team Artist
  • Elder Chaos Guard
  • Second Lieutenant
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 194
    • View Profile
    • http://www.derekyu.com
Re: Shell
« Reply #10 on: December 02, 2006, 11:31 »

No it doesnt. Selecting the armor slot simply un-equips whatever is in it, so you cant "swap" anything.
Try press "i" key, then choose armor(or boots, or weapon) you want to equip. It will swap with already equipped.

That's what I meant. ^_^
Logged

Neth

  • Lance Corporal
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Shell
« Reply #11 on: December 02, 2006, 11:37 »

No it doesnt. Selecting the armor slot simply un-equips whatever is in it, so you cant "swap" anything.
Try press "i" key, then choose armor(or boots, or weapon) you want to equip. It will swap with already equipped.
TRUE...
situation is not tooooooooo worse=)
but, khem, wish keybind for momental use of item, that is lying on the surface=) such as large medkit, phase... can't remember more... so you don't need to put it into an inventory ;P
Logged
"Hell is too warm, Heaven is too cold..." Aehnios

Neth

  • Lance Corporal
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Shell
« Reply #12 on: December 02, 2006, 11:51 »

Hmmm... a trobleshooting for a multiplayer problem... maybe organize a "real time div turns" engine, so each player have a 1-5 seconds to act 20 moves, or 0.1 sec delay cost 1 turn and if you act, you can after that do anything for TurnUsed mul 0.1

this have been used in the Icewind dale II
Logged
"Hell is too warm, Heaven is too cold..." Aehnios

Karry

  • First Lieutenant
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 206
    • View Profile
Re: Shell
« Reply #13 on: December 02, 2006, 12:01 »

The "i" key ? Then that means there are duplicating functions. "e" and "i". Doesnt make much sense...
Logged

Malek Deneith

  • Grand Inquisitor Emeritus
  • Grand Inquisitor
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1256
    • View Profile
Re: Shell
« Reply #14 on: December 02, 2006, 12:04 »

Not really "i" shows inventory, while "e" shows equipped items and "character data"
Logged
Inquisition - saving your soul, one bolter shell at a time.
Spoiler: "Hackmaster Kills" (click to show/hide)
Pages: [1] 2 3  All