Chaosforge Forum

• March 28, 2024, 07:57
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: [H|88%|22|YASD] When things get *VERY* ugly...  (Read 5987 times)

Dreadlord

• Lance Corporal
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
[H|88%|22|YASD] When things get *VERY* ugly...
« on: July 28, 2011, 11:49 »

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

I am a newbie player in DoomRL and Ultra-Violence turned out to be too much of a good thing for me (stupid deaths on level 3 or above), and I still try to beat the game on Hurt Me Plenty. This time everything was quite good despite the harsh beginning - I had a very damaged red armor but Hell Armory blessed me with a power pack and a nano pack after the Shambler was dealt with. With the Power Armor on and crafted guns the game was going more smoothly than expected... until the Mortuary. Only once I had managed to finish this level successfully, out of about ten times... This time I was stupid enough to think that I was ready to face the Mortuary. As you can see on the map, things ended VERY badly. When it all began I warped away using the Hell Staff and managed to kill a couple of viles with my BFG. I ran up to the left wall, shooting enemies who chased me. After refilling my health at lower left stairway, I realized that I had little ammunition left, and the enemies still kept coming. I attempted to grab a power cell at arachnotron's corpse to get enough charge for another BFG shot, but the cell got burned by an arch-vile who came with his guard, consisting of hell knights and hell barons. It was badly hurt, and I tried to use my last rocket on him with a Revenant's Launcher. A failed attempt - the rocket hit a baron in front of it, dealing little damage to the vile. A hellwave pack burned them down with the vile, but more barons, knights and cacodemons were still attacking. I even had to resort to the Super Shotgun, as nuclear plasma has little clip and all other ammo was a