Chaosforge Forum

• April 24, 2024, 00:20
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Version Change?  (Read 1664 times)

Klear

• Elder
  • Lieutenant General
  • Twisted passages carry the smell of dapperness...
    • View Profile
Version Change?
« on: January 30, 2012, 08:39 »

Since I'm still kinda new to DoomRL, I haven't really been around any version changes. I started playing in .994, but only a little and I really started to play regularly with .995, so I simply started over. It was indeed a matter of a few playthroughs to get all I had achieved before plus a lot I thought impossible for me.

So anyway, what (usually) happens when new version comes? Do you have to discard your player file and start over? Is it possible to keep the old badges/medals/discovered assemblies and keep playing with the new version? Will you only lose stuff which is changed in the new version (new badge requirements, new mod combinations for assemblies) or do you keep your badges even if the condition change to be more difficult?

I noticed a lot of people here had to regain all their badges, is that optional, forced, or just good practice? (so it's easier to find bugs?)

While I'm at it, how often do new versions come on average?

Thanks...
« Last Edit: January 30, 2012, 08:41 by Klear »
Arch-Vile Mjr General [24/19/18/8/2] (0.9.9.7)

Quote from: thelaptop
Dude... we need to change your forum handle from "Klear" to "Klear Nukem".

thelaptop

• Chaos Fanatic!
  • Grand Inquisitor
  • Apostle
    • View Profile
Re: Version Change?
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2012, 08:57 »

I'll try to answer whatever I can.

Generally, I won't discard my player file if the challenges remain roughly similar.  But recently, each version redefines the challenge requirements (both for the badge and the manner in which it can be done), so I've dropped my player file when the version changes.