Chaosforge Forum

  • May 11, 2021, 02:18
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.



Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1] 2  All

Author Topic: Tiles or ASCII?  (Read 6272 times)

runequester

  • Private FC
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Tiles or ASCII?
« on: July 22, 2013, 12:47 »

Do you prefer the graphical tiles, or ASCII for Doom RL? What about other roguelikes?


I tend not to mind ASCII, though for DOom RL, I do use the tiles, as they're so well done.
For Angband, I always play with ascii, even though they have a new tile set that's really good.
Logged

ParaSait

  • Baffen :P
  • Elder
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1229
  • Happy Little Boozer
    • View Profile
    • MPSF
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2013, 14:20 »

ASCII.
The DoomRL tile mode is very well done, both graphically and program-wise, but for RLs I've just never been a fan of tiles in general.
Logged
[18|7|3|0|0|0] [MED:13/43] [SPE:36/67] [ASM:11/40]

Check out my epic youtube channel!
Currently playing The Bard's Tale and System Shock 2 (coop with GrAV1t)!

IronBeer

  • Elder
  • First Sergeant
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 126
  • Carry on, citizen.
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2013, 18:25 »

ASCII.
The DoomRL tile mode is very well done, both graphically and program-wise, but for RLs I've just never been a fan of tiles in general.
Also the fact that running under the tileset doesn't put the whole floor on the screen at once.
Logged
0.9.9.7 Mancubus 1st Lieutenant
[19/12/5/1/0]

Juice

  • Elder
  • Sergeant
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2013, 01:34 »

I prefer tiles over ascii both for doom and for nethack. I' just way tooo bad in ascii and I don't really want to spend the time learning to play on ascii properly..
Logged
[25|22|20|15|5|0]
Cyberdemon General

Bloax

  • Sergeant Major
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
  • Ohohoh! Here it comes! Here comes the night train!
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2013, 06:04 »

ASCII is fine for DoomRL, since there's not a lot to memorize and as said - it shows the entire floor at once.

Though for something much bigger like Crawl I'd take tiles any day.
Logged

Klear

  • Elder
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1319
  • Twisted passages carry the smell of dapperness...
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2013, 06:40 »

I like tiles in DoomRL, though I've learnt to play Dwarf Fortress in ASCII. Turns out it's not a big difference.
Logged
Arch-Vile Mjr General [24/19/18/8/2] (0.9.9.7)

Quote from: thelaptop
Dude... we need to change your forum handle from "Klear" to "Klear Nukem".

LuckyDee

  • Sound Wizard
  • Grand Inquisitor
  • General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1512
  • High Caliber Consecrator
    • View Profile
    • LuckyDeeIndustries
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2013, 10:11 »

Tiles for me. The release of the first graphics version is actually what drew me in; I'd seen the ASCII version before and just couldn't be bothered.
Logged
[0.9.9.7G] Current: Hell Knight 1st Lieutenant [20/12/4/0/0/0]
High: Arch-Vile Lt. Colonel [25/21/12/2/1/0]

raekuul

  • Supporter
  • Brigadier General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 668
  • Storyteller Under The Bridge
    • View Profile
    • Veldania
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2013, 19:46 »

I love the ascii version, it just feels more responsive than the graphical version, what with not having to wait for the tiles to slide into place...
Logged
Quote
Tormuse doesn't lose, he dies on purpose to lull the demons into a false sense of security.

ParaSait

  • Baffen :P
  • Elder
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1229
  • Happy Little Boozer
    • View Profile
    • MPSF
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2013, 20:13 »

Also the fact that running under the tileset doesn't put the whole floor on the screen at once.
I love the ascii version, it just feels more responsive than the graphical version, what with not having to wait for the tiles to slide into place...

Yea besides just generally not liking tiles, this and this are exactly the other main reasons why I stick to ASCII
Logged
[18|7|3|0|0|0] [MED:13/43] [SPE:36/67] [ASM:11/40]

Check out my epic youtube channel!
Currently playing The Bard's Tale and System Shock 2 (coop with GrAV1t)!

AlterAsc

  • Supporter
  • Major
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 399
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2013, 10:13 »

ASCII.
1. It's more information packed per pixel. 
2. It's much faster.
Logged
(0.9.9.6 - ?) Arch-Vile Chaos Lt. Colonel [26|20|18|16|12|2]

Fanta Hege

  • Elder
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 414
  • Will it work? I HAVE NO IDEA
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2013, 00:42 »

I used to like the ASCII but the Tiles have grown on to me ever since the graphic release
not to mention the ASCII version feels bit more.. Less responsive for me for some odd reason compared to the current tile version.
I tried to play the ASCII version on the new ones but it just didnt work out.
Logged
i dont even know anymore

runequester

  • Private FC
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2013, 11:30 »

ASCII is fine for DoomRL, since there's not a lot to memorize and as said - it shows the entire floor at once.

Though for something much bigger like Crawl I'd take tiles any day.

It probably helps in Crawl that the mouse interface is really handy. Being able to click on the map and so forth. Doom RL, I end up playing almost entirely with the keyboard.
Logged

Klear

  • Elder
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1319
  • Twisted passages carry the smell of dapperness...
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #12 on: July 27, 2013, 13:58 »

Yeah, I rarely touch mouse when playing.
Logged
Arch-Vile Mjr General [24/19/18/8/2] (0.9.9.7)

Quote from: thelaptop
Dude... we need to change your forum handle from "Klear" to "Klear Nukem".

Sambojin

  • First Lieutenant
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 223
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2013, 20:49 »

Ascii for DoomRL. Tiles for DF, NH, Slashem and DCSS. The tiles are so pretty for DRL that I'm actually going out of my way to learn how to use them. But I got so used to ascii that the change isn't easy. I played tile-mode on all the others first.

For a graphical ascii that is seriously "the best" style of this, look no further than X@com. Now that's graphical ascii!
Logged

thelaptop

  • Chaos Fanatic!
  • Grand Inquisitor
  • Apostle
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2513
  • Grumpy Admin
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2013, 23:16 »

Ooo this question again.  ASCII for me, definitely.
Logged
I compute, therefore I am.

2nd Lieutenant (JH 0.9.8a)
[7/7/2/0/0/0]
Pages: [1] 2  All