Chaosforge Forum

• April 27, 2024, 14:45
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Stupid, stupid monsters  (Read 6722 times)

Zarin

• Sergeant
    • View Profile
Stupid, stupid monsters
« on: January 24, 2007, 15:14 »

Hello,
I just decided to switch from "Hey, not too rough!" to "Hurt me plenty".  First of all, I managed to finish the top level with all four medikits intact (even though all of them were picked by some former human) and at 100% - never could do that on lower difficulty levels!  Second, level 2 already had some former captains, which gave me a super-early access to the chaingun.  Third, there were some combat shotguns present as well - also nice.
Thus equipped (and being already at level 2 - EE(2)), I decided to step into Arena...

... I never had easier time there!  (Remember, this is my first attempt at Hurt me plenty!)
One of the reasons is that chaingun rules.  Cacodemons don't always shoot - sometimes they move, and one of them tried to shoot me through the nearby wall, wounding itself in the process.  Anyway, three bursts from a chaingun beat 3-4 combat shotgun shots with 2-3 moves between them any day!
The real fun, though, came later...

The third wave of monsters had two Hell Knights.  However, they were the easiest to dispatch - I saw one, stepped back one step and shot at the place it's been spotted.  It never moved!  So, I just killed one and then the other from out of sight range!  I always take EE(2)/Int(3) path, and, playing on "Hey, not too rough!", noticed that monsters always move even when out-of-sight.  Why were the knights playing sitting duck?  Why didn't they react to me when I came into range?  Has anyone noticed this?