Chaosforge Forum

• March 28, 2024, 01:36
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Compilation Errors in vstream.pas  (Read 10594 times)

Chris

• Private FC
    • View Profile
Compilation Errors in vstream.pas
« on: May 28, 2007, 17:54 »

When attempting to do the sr tutorial I get the following error:

vstream.pas(145,18) Error: function header doesn't match the forward declaration "IOutputStream.Write(const LongInt, Pointer)"

I'm using the 4.0 version of the Valkyrie library, by the way.

I'm doing this on OS X, but I was getting the same error on windows, when I was trying to compile berserk. I'm compiling using the command "fpc sr.pas -S2". I'm new to free pascal, so maybe I'm doing something really simple wrong. Anyway, any help would be great. Thanks.

Kornel Kisielewicz

• God Hand
  • Apostle
    • View Profile
    • http://chaosforge.org/
Re: Compilation Errors in vstream.pas
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2007, 23:32 »

Hmm, there may be many reasons:

1) the sr tutorial is broken beyond repair -- it's very outdated, and I keep promising myself to write a new one :/
2) as for berserk -- it SHOULD work with the newest Valkyrie. Yet I know there are some errors in compilation when using 2.1.4 version of FreePascal (the newest ones) -- these however are relatively easy to fix (if that's the case than post your error log, and I'll tell you what to modify).
3) Berserk! needs 0.4.1 to compile.

I would publish the newest Valkyrie library, but... it breaks compatibility YET AGAIN, and the current berserk release doesn't compile with it :P.
at your service,
Kornel Kisielewicz

Chris

• Private FC
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2007, 13:05 »

Using fpc version 2.1.4, on windows, with Valkyrie 4.1, I get these errors\warnings:

vstream.pas(148,18) Error: function header doesn't match the forward declaration "IOutputStream.Write(const LongInt, Pointer)"