Chaosforge Forum

DoomRL => Bug Reports => Topic started by: brokenfury8585 on March 26, 2012, 13:09

Title: Keybindings problem on 0.9.9.6
Post by: brokenfury8585 on March 26, 2012, 13:09
SO i change the keybindings HNJM to be the diagonal movement s H(NW), N(SW), J(NE), M(SE). and when I get into the game is does not seem to change the controls. Any suggestions?

Running mac 10.6
version 0.9.9.6
Title: Re: Keybindings problem on 0.9.9.6
Post by: shark20061 on March 26, 2012, 13:23
SO i change the keybindings HNJM to be the diagonal movement s H(NW), N(SW), J(NE), M(SE). and when I get into the game is does not seem to change the controls. Any suggestions?

Running mac 10.6
version 0.9.9.6

Just to make sure you are doing it right:
Code: [Select]
["H"] = COMMAND_WALKNW,should be exactly what to type to bind H to NW.

Also, be careful with "M" because it is assigned to the [m]ore command (while looking), unless you change that too.

If there's still a problem, it might be linked to the OS.
Title: Re: Keybindings problem on 0.9.9.6
Post by: brokenfury8585 on March 26, 2012, 14:05
I have tried both caps and non caps versions and nothing seems to work. These are the same changes i have made in previous versions of doorml. Attached is my keybindings.lua



Title: Re: Keybindings problem on 0.9.9.6
Post by: thelaptop on March 26, 2012, 17:55
Look at shark20061's second last sentence.  I think that might be your problem.
Title: Re: Keybindings problem on 0.9.9.6
Post by: brokenfury8585 on March 27, 2012, 08:56
i changed the ["M"] to another unused key. In previous versions all I did was change the four buttons from the PgUp, PgDown, etc etc to the same keys. Hmm I wonder if this is due to the graphics mode. I think i might try it in ASCII mode and see if I get the same effects.
Title: Re: Keybindings problem on 0.9.9.6
Post by: brokenfury8585 on March 28, 2012, 11:19
So i believe the problem exists in a bigger sense, I tried to change any of the .lua files and the changes never seem to take effect. This is a corperate machine with some changes, but in previous builds have been successful in changing the keybindings.lua, config.lua, and music.lua files
Title: Re: Keybindings problem on 0.9.9.6
Post by: Rabinowitz on March 28, 2012, 11:45
BTW is it possible to reassign "Y"es confirmation key form "Y/n" prompt? Or is it hard-coded now?

Also? CTRL and ALT combinations dont work in the current version. :(
Title: Re: Keybindings problem on 0.9.9.6
Post by: Game Hunter on March 28, 2012, 12:07
So i believe the problem exists in a bigger sense, I tried to change any of the .lua files and the changes never seem to take effect. This is a corperate machine with some changes, but in previous builds have been successful in changing the keybindings.lua, config.lua, and music.lua files
Could be that the files are read-only. On a Windows machine, you can check the properties of the file and un-check the "read-only" box to make it writable.

BTW is it possible to reassign "Y"es confirmation key form "Y/n" prompt? Or is it hard-coded now?
It's hardcoded, since it has to do with the way that the ui.msg_confirm() function works and is not a "whenever you want" command. This it to say that you could bind the 'Y' key to something and the confirm will work just fine.

Also? CTRL and ALT combinations dont work in the current version. :(
shark mentioned that he was able to get it to work with the graphics version, so this is just something that needs to become functional across the game rather than be graphics-specific. (It probably has to do with the way that the a console reads certain button commands.)
Title: Re: Keybindings problem on 0.9.9.6
Post by: Rabinowitz on March 29, 2012, 14:45
It's hardcoded, since it has to do with the way that the ui.msg_confirm() function works and is not a "whenever you want" command. This it to say that you could bind the 'Y' key to something and the confirm will work just fine.

Hmm.. dont understand. If i want to assing "h" key for Y/N yes confirmation, should i add string to keybindings such as

["H"] = function() ui.msg_confirm = true end,

?
Title: Re: Keybindings problem on 0.9.9.6
Post by: shark20061 on March 29, 2012, 14:59
You can't change that binding.  It's hard coded to 'y' and 'Y'.