Chaosforge Forum

  • August 10, 2020, 19:06
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.



Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Make med packs stackable  (Read 4054 times)

beam

  • Private FC
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Make med packs stackable
« on: February 29, 2008, 20:00 »

I never have any room for even one or two of them :( Is it possible to make them stackable?
Logged

Kornel Kisielewicz

  • God Hand
  • Apostle
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4544
    • View Profile
    • http://chaosforge.org/
Re: Make med packs stackable
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2008, 20:13 »

This has been discussed and voted against, right guys? Eh... guys? Anyone listening??? (dan it's soooo silent on chaosforge nowdays :( )
Logged
at your service,
Kornel Kisielewicz

beam

  • Private FC
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Make med packs stackable
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2008, 20:32 »

Maybe adding some skill, something like extra backpack space or something? Who knows. I need my medpacks :(
Logged

Potman

  • Major
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 395
    • View Profile
Re: Make med packs stackable
« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2008, 01:44 »

Pack Rat! On the first level, you could stuff two medipacks in the same slot, on the second level three, and on the final four.
Logged

DaEezT

  • Greater Elder
  • Colonel
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 565
    • View Profile
Re: Make med packs stackable
« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2008, 02:46 »

This has been discussed and voted against, right guys? Eh... guys? Anyone listening??? (dan it's soooo silent on chaosforge nowdays :( )

I dunno about voting but we had something like that here
Logged
"Morality is merely a convention with which men mutually agree to delude themselves. There are no moral facts, just preferences, and one is no better than any other."

Malek Deneith

  • Grand Inquisitor Emeritus
  • Grand Inquisitor
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1256
  • Lost Seraph
    • View Profile
Re: Make med packs stackable
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2008, 04:21 »

This has been discussed and voted against, right guys? Eh... guys? Anyone listening??? (dan it's soooo silent on chaosforge nowdays :( )
It was voted FOR. It was YOU who in the end decided not to do it >>
Logged
Inquisition - saving your soul, one bolter shell at a time.
Spoiler: "Hackmaster Kills" (click to show/hide)

Dawgas

  • Lance Corporal
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Make med packs stackable
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2008, 04:39 »

This has been discussed and voted against, right guys? Eh... guys? Anyone listening??? (dan it's soooo silent on chaosforge nowdays :( )
It was voted FOR. It was YOU who in the end decided not to do it >>

hahaha oh wow

also
Quote
never have room
drop some of that 10mm ammo goddamn while you're at it drop your pistol and chaingun too
Logged

ParaSait

  • Baffen :P
  • Elder
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1223
  • Happy Little Boozer
    • View Profile
    • MPSF
Re: Make med packs stackable
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2008, 05:29 »

Well, I vote NO. I think you just have to find a balance between medpacks and ammo. It's still a roguelike after all isn't it?!
Logged
[18|7|3|0|0|0] [MED:13/43] [SPE:36/67] [ASM:11/40]

Check out my epic youtube channel!
Currently playing The Bard's Tale and System Shock 2 (coop with GrAV1t)!

Blade

  • Tester
  • Elder Chaos Guard
  • Brigadier General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 691
    • View Profile
    • Upyachka
Re: Make med packs stackable
« Reply #8 on: March 01, 2008, 05:56 »

Me too thinks that it's not a good idea. Balance of inventory is good now, there isn't any "the only one good ammo-to-meds ratio", it's variable for every player, but still you can't carry all junk that you found on your path with you. Stacking of meds will cheapen greatly inventory space, and will cause current ballance to crash. Currently i can carry 3-4 meds with me, and all needed ammo, and imho it's pretty enough to survive.
« Last Edit: March 01, 2008, 07:11 by Blade »
Logged
Low orbit ion cannon damaged my brain!!1
Now i'm an idiot!1 Kill me, somebody!!11

Kornel Kisielewicz

  • God Hand
  • Apostle
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4544
    • View Profile
    • http://chaosforge.org/
Re: Make med packs stackable
« Reply #9 on: March 01, 2008, 06:42 »

Yeah, that's what some people don't get -- limited inventory is actually a design feature not a bug :P
Logged
at your service,
Kornel Kisielewicz

maso

  • Elder
  • Lance Corporal
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Make med packs stackable
« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2008, 07:13 »

What about small meds stacking and large meds not stacking.
Logged

ParaSait

  • Baffen :P
  • Elder
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1223
  • Happy Little Boozer
    • View Profile
    • MPSF
Re: Make med packs stackable
« Reply #11 on: March 02, 2008, 07:24 »

What about small meds stacking and large meds not stacking.

No, absolutely not!! Stacking would completely ruin the "survival" feeling you get while playing the game.
Logged
[18|7|3|0|0|0] [MED:13/43] [SPE:36/67] [ASM:11/40]

Check out my epic youtube channel!
Currently playing The Bard's Tale and System Shock 2 (coop with GrAV1t)!

Dawgas

  • Lance Corporal
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: Make med packs stackable
« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2008, 13:40 »

oh no, not like at lower levels small medkits are practically useless

maybe they should stack (lol 2 small medkits per slot) if you get a/the Backpack?

Also, while we're talking about the backpack: when you have it you can have a second prepared weapon as well maybe? (LOL SO OVERPOWERED NOW I CAN CARRY 3 ROCKET LAUNCHERS I AM UNSTOPPABLE GODDAMN
Logged

007bistromath

  • Backer
  • First Lieutenant
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 221
    • View Profile
Re: Make med packs stackable
« Reply #13 on: March 05, 2008, 06:08 »

I never have any room for even one or two of them :( Is it possible to make them stackable?
I wouldn't mind them stacking once myself, but seriously, you have trouble with a pair of them? You are doing something very wrong. The only thing I can guess is that you're trying to carry both a chaingun and a shotgun. For serious don't do that. If you like the shotty, just use that, and use a rocket launcher to cover distance and emergencies. If you don't, drop it and switch to chain/rocket. That requires somewhat more space, since you have to save ammo for the PR/BFG, but does better in endgame.

If you're carrying all four types of ammo, Something Is Wrong.
Logged
Pages: [1]