Chaosforge Forum

  • September 20, 2019, 21:02
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.



Login with username, password and session length
Pages: [1]

Author Topic: Samples broken in trunk?  (Read 3914 times)

singalen

  • Supporter
  • First Sergeant
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 127
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Samples broken in trunk?
« on: March 08, 2013, 15:55 »

Hey,
I'm tempted by 7drl and Kornel's 7-year old rant in R.G.R.D., so trying Valkirye now.
Though, I cannot compile valktest.pas - it uses a bunch of outdated modules.
I expected to find a working and playable example there, is this the case?
Logged

Kornel Kisielewicz

  • God Hand
  • Apostle
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4465
    • View Profile
    • http://chaosforge.org/
Re: Samples broken in trunk?
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2013, 21:29 »

Woah, I didn't even know that these are still in the SVN... there wasn't much interest of using the library except for my own roguelikes, so I dumped the idea of documenting and providing examples altogether...

Nowdays the closest thing to a small working example would be DownFall ( https://sourceforge.net/projects/downfall/ ) but it also might be buggy. If there's enough interest I might someday document the library.

Apart from DownFall, two open source ChaosForge roguelikes also use it -- DiabloRL ( https://sourceforge.net/projects/diablorl/ ) and Berserk! ( https://sourceforge.net/projects/berserkrl/ ).
« Last Edit: March 08, 2013, 21:31 by Kornel Kisielewicz »
Logged
at your service,
Kornel Kisielewicz

singalen

  • Supporter
  • First Sergeant
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 127
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Samples broken in trunk?
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2013, 02:52 »

Thanks a lot!
Indeed this is a good, simple and playable example.
Tried it. Free Pascal IDE is so nostalgic and so outdated...
Inventory screen is empty in the Downfall I built from trunk, whatever I pick up.
Now trying how complex is it to debug it...
Logged

Kornel Kisielewicz

  • God Hand
  • Apostle
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4465
    • View Profile
    • http://chaosforge.org/
Re: Samples broken in trunk?
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2013, 11:02 »

I'd definitively recommend using Lazarus over FPIDE.
Logged
at your service,
Kornel Kisielewicz

singalen

  • Supporter
  • First Sergeant
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 127
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Samples broken in trunk?
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2013, 13:46 »

A pity IDEA doesn't support FPC. It would empower it so much, maybe even more than the expected C++ linking.
I'm afraid I'm going for rot.js, sorry.
Logged

Sambojin

  • First Lieutenant
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 223
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Samples broken in trunk?
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2013, 08:02 »

Whilst Valkyrie isn't exaclty the source engine of call for DoomRL, if you're still updating it for DiabloRL (with it's incredibly funkier room and maze generation), it'd be great to see.

I will, one day, get that thing working in the pascal wrapper for androidSDK.

Then I'll make a really crappy rogue-like. Because we need good ones, but there'll be some crappy ones along the way.
Logged
Pages: [1]