Chaosforge Forum

  • May 09, 2021, 02:30
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.



Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 2 [All]

Author Topic: Tiles or ASCII?  (Read 6268 times)

runequester

  • Private FC
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Tiles or ASCII?
« on: July 22, 2013, 12:47 »

Do you prefer the graphical tiles, or ASCII for Doom RL? What about other roguelikes?


I tend not to mind ASCII, though for DOom RL, I do use the tiles, as they're so well done.
For Angband, I always play with ascii, even though they have a new tile set that's really good.
Logged

ParaSait

  • Baffen :P
  • Elder
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1229
  • Happy Little Boozer
    • View Profile
    • MPSF
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2013, 14:20 »

ASCII.
The DoomRL tile mode is very well done, both graphically and program-wise, but for RLs I've just never been a fan of tiles in general.
Logged
[18|7|3|0|0|0] [MED:13/43] [SPE:36/67] [ASM:11/40]

Check out my epic youtube channel!
Currently playing The Bard's Tale and System Shock 2 (coop with GrAV1t)!

IronBeer

  • Elder
  • First Sergeant
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 126
  • Carry on, citizen.
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2013, 18:25 »

ASCII.
The DoomRL tile mode is very well done, both graphically and program-wise, but for RLs I've just never been a fan of tiles in general.
Also the fact that running under the tileset doesn't put the whole floor on the screen at once.
Logged
0.9.9.7 Mancubus 1st Lieutenant
[19/12/5/1/0]

Juice

  • Elder
  • Sergeant
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2013, 01:34 »

I prefer tiles over ascii both for doom and for nethack. I' just way tooo bad in ascii and I don't really want to spend the time learning to play on ascii properly..
Logged
[25|22|20|15|5|0]
Cyberdemon General

Bloax

  • Sergeant Major
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 151
  • Ohohoh! Here it comes! Here comes the night train!
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #4 on: July 23, 2013, 06:04 »

ASCII is fine for DoomRL, since there's not a lot to memorize and as said - it shows the entire floor at once.

Though for something much bigger like Crawl I'd take tiles any day.
Logged

Klear

  • Elder
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1319
  • Twisted passages carry the smell of dapperness...
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #5 on: July 23, 2013, 06:40 »

I like tiles in DoomRL, though I've learnt to play Dwarf Fortress in ASCII. Turns out it's not a big difference.
Logged
Arch-Vile Mjr General [24/19/18/8/2] (0.9.9.7)

Quote from: thelaptop
Dude... we need to change your forum handle from "Klear" to "Klear Nukem".

LuckyDee

  • Sound Wizard
  • Grand Inquisitor
  • General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1512
  • High Caliber Consecrator
    • View Profile
    • LuckyDeeIndustries
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2013, 10:11 »

Tiles for me. The release of the first graphics version is actually what drew me in; I'd seen the ASCII version before and just couldn't be bothered.
Logged
[0.9.9.7G] Current: Hell Knight 1st Lieutenant [20/12/4/0/0/0]
High: Arch-Vile Lt. Colonel [25/21/12/2/1/0]

raekuul

  • Supporter
  • Brigadier General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 668
  • Storyteller Under The Bridge
    • View Profile
    • Veldania
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #7 on: July 23, 2013, 19:46 »

I love the ascii version, it just feels more responsive than the graphical version, what with not having to wait for the tiles to slide into place...
Logged
Quote
Tormuse doesn't lose, he dies on purpose to lull the demons into a false sense of security.

ParaSait

  • Baffen :P
  • Elder
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1229
  • Happy Little Boozer
    • View Profile
    • MPSF
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #8 on: July 23, 2013, 20:13 »

Also the fact that running under the tileset doesn't put the whole floor on the screen at once.
I love the ascii version, it just feels more responsive than the graphical version, what with not having to wait for the tiles to slide into place...

Yea besides just generally not liking tiles, this and this are exactly the other main reasons why I stick to ASCII
Logged
[18|7|3|0|0|0] [MED:13/43] [SPE:36/67] [ASM:11/40]

Check out my epic youtube channel!
Currently playing The Bard's Tale and System Shock 2 (coop with GrAV1t)!

AlterAsc

  • Supporter
  • Major
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 399
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #9 on: July 24, 2013, 10:13 »

ASCII.
1. It's more information packed per pixel. 
2. It's much faster.
Logged
(0.9.9.6 - ?) Arch-Vile Chaos Lt. Colonel [26|20|18|16|12|2]

Fanta Hege

  • Elder
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 414
  • Will it work? I HAVE NO IDEA
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #10 on: July 25, 2013, 00:42 »

I used to like the ASCII but the Tiles have grown on to me ever since the graphic release
not to mention the ASCII version feels bit more.. Less responsive for me for some odd reason compared to the current tile version.
I tried to play the ASCII version on the new ones but it just didnt work out.
Logged
i dont even know anymore

runequester

  • Private FC
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #11 on: July 27, 2013, 11:30 »

ASCII is fine for DoomRL, since there's not a lot to memorize and as said - it shows the entire floor at once.

Though for something much bigger like Crawl I'd take tiles any day.

It probably helps in Crawl that the mouse interface is really handy. Being able to click on the map and so forth. Doom RL, I end up playing almost entirely with the keyboard.
Logged

Klear

  • Elder
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1319
  • Twisted passages carry the smell of dapperness...
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #12 on: July 27, 2013, 13:58 »

Yeah, I rarely touch mouse when playing.
Logged
Arch-Vile Mjr General [24/19/18/8/2] (0.9.9.7)

Quote from: thelaptop
Dude... we need to change your forum handle from "Klear" to "Klear Nukem".

Sambojin

  • First Lieutenant
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 223
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #13 on: July 30, 2013, 20:49 »

Ascii for DoomRL. Tiles for DF, NH, Slashem and DCSS. The tiles are so pretty for DRL that I'm actually going out of my way to learn how to use them. But I got so used to ascii that the change isn't easy. I played tile-mode on all the others first.

For a graphical ascii that is seriously "the best" style of this, look no further than X@com. Now that's graphical ascii!
Logged

thelaptop

  • Chaos Fanatic!
  • Grand Inquisitor
  • Apostle
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2512
  • Grumpy Admin
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2013, 23:16 »

Ooo this question again.  ASCII for me, definitely.
Logged
I compute, therefore I am.

2nd Lieutenant (JH 0.9.8a)
[7/7/2/0/0/0]

ParaSait

  • Baffen :P
  • Elder
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1229
  • Happy Little Boozer
    • View Profile
    • MPSF
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #15 on: August 01, 2013, 00:59 »

"After the end of 0994, the world was split into two -- ASCII and Tiles. This marked the beginning of the era called the Cold War..."
Logged
[18|7|3|0|0|0] [MED:13/43] [SPE:36/67] [ASM:11/40]

Check out my epic youtube channel!
Currently playing The Bard's Tale and System Shock 2 (coop with GrAV1t)!

Mech__Warrior

  • Private FC
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #16 on: August 01, 2013, 09:06 »

Being rather new around here, I prefer the graphics over ASCII. It was the graphics that initially brought me here from a Youtuber known as Phreakidee. They are very well-done and I'll continue to use them.
Logged

Simon-v

  • Composer
  • Elder Chaos Guard
  • Captain
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 271
  • Only Human
    • View Profile
    • The Life and Works of One Simon Volpert
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #17 on: August 02, 2013, 01:37 »

Need i remind you that modding was much more accessible when you only had to replace a few letters instead of drawing a whole new spritesheet?
Logged

Klear

  • Elder
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1319
  • Twisted passages carry the smell of dapperness...
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #18 on: August 02, 2013, 03:57 »

You can still only replace a few letters, only it won't work in graphical mode, at least I think that's the case.
Logged
Arch-Vile Mjr General [24/19/18/8/2] (0.9.9.7)

Quote from: thelaptop
Dude... we need to change your forum handle from "Klear" to "Klear Nukem".

GinDiamond

  • First Sergeant
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 129
  • Warrant Officer-Mancubus, trying to get all Bronze
    • View Profile
    • GinDiamond Stuff
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #19 on: August 02, 2013, 13:21 »

I've always liked the ASCII. It makes me feel at home or something, some sort of feeling of nostalgia from when I first discovered DoomRL. I also like how you can see the whole map at once, and it leaves alot to imagination.

That said, I do enjoy playing it fullscreen with tiles every now and then.
Logged
Do not muddle in the affairs of Dragons, for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup.

Ashannar

  • Elder
  • Second Lieutenant
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
  • Shottyhead Aficionado
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #20 on: August 03, 2013, 00:13 »

Both. Tiles are much more bearable once you alter the configuration file to make them twice as small.
Logged
Hell Baron Major (0.9.9.7) 22 18 12 1 0 0

Zoli

  • Private FC
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #21 on: August 04, 2013, 07:04 »

Tiles for me. I love the original Doom graphics. And I'm playing with mouse.
Logged

White Rider

  • Elder
  • Captain
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 252
  • Doesn't play much
    • View Profile
    • My Steam Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #22 on: August 04, 2013, 17:27 »

Tiles. But now that I can play Crawl kinda-sorta competently without a mouse I might try DoomRL in ASCII.
Logged
0.9.9.6: 10d 15h Arch-Vile Major; 6/6/2012 - 3/15/2013
0.9.9.7: 12d 9h Cyberdemon Br. General; 3/19/2013 - ?
V: 31 (5P 17S 9F) M: 32 I: 66 A: 40 | 26 24 19 8 1 0

dougjoe2e

  • Elder
  • Lance Corporal
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #23 on: August 24, 2013, 18:25 »

ASCII.  Like others have commented, I like being able to see the whole map at once.  i tried the tile mode a few times (and again, as others have said the tiles are well done) and it just didn't click for me for some reason.

And, as a side note, I like the availability of the low-quality download too... the difference between 100 MB and 5 MB is a big deal for my crappy internet connection.
Logged
0.9.9.1:Arch-Vile Colonel [19/19/12/3/0]
0.9.9.2:Hell Baron Captain [21/12/7/1/0]
0.9.9.3:Mancubus 2nd Lieutenant  [18/9/7/1/0]
0.9.9.4:Mancubus 2nd Lieutenant  [17/9/7/1/0]

Yholl

  • Private FC
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Ammochaining lunatic
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #24 on: August 25, 2013, 18:15 »

Tiles. A picture is worth a thousand letters, I guess. Is that a Cacodemon? Yes. Also, does ASCII even have entities shifting from one tile to another when they move, or do they just blink there instantly? Smooth movement helps identify things threats even more. ASCII is offputting for me because my brain needs to do the extra work of identifying that letter/symbol and remembering what it's even supposed to be, instead of just looking at the graphic of a Cacodemon.
Logged

Delta Falcon

  • Private
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #25 on: August 26, 2013, 18:25 »

I was always used to the ASCII, but I recently learned of the mode with tiles, and I've come to enjoy that even more.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [All]