Chaosforge Forum

  • September 23, 2020, 17:03
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.



Login with username, password and session length
Pages: 1 [2]  All

Author Topic: Tiles or ASCII?  (Read 5529 times)

ParaSait

  • Baffen :P
  • Elder
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1223
  • Happy Little Boozer
    • View Profile
    • MPSF
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #15 on: August 01, 2013, 00:59 »

"After the end of 0994, the world was split into two -- ASCII and Tiles. This marked the beginning of the era called the Cold War..."
Logged
[18|7|3|0|0|0] [MED:13/43] [SPE:36/67] [ASM:11/40]

Check out my epic youtube channel!
Currently playing The Bard's Tale and System Shock 2 (coop with GrAV1t)!

Mech__Warrior

  • Private FC
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #16 on: August 01, 2013, 09:06 »

Being rather new around here, I prefer the graphics over ASCII. It was the graphics that initially brought me here from a Youtuber known as Phreakidee. They are very well-done and I'll continue to use them.
Logged

Simon-v

  • Composer
  • Elder Chaos Guard
  • Captain
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 271
  • Only Human
    • View Profile
    • The Life and Works of One Simon Volpert
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #17 on: August 02, 2013, 01:37 »

Need i remind you that modding was much more accessible when you only had to replace a few letters instead of drawing a whole new spritesheet?
Logged

Klear

  • Elder
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1319
  • Twisted passages carry the smell of dapperness...
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #18 on: August 02, 2013, 03:57 »

You can still only replace a few letters, only it won't work in graphical mode, at least I think that's the case.
Logged
Arch-Vile Mjr General [24/19/18/8/2] (0.9.9.7)

Quote from: thelaptop
Dude... we need to change your forum handle from "Klear" to "Klear Nukem".

GinDiamond

  • First Sergeant
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 129
  • Warrant Officer-Mancubus, trying to get all Bronze
    • View Profile
    • GinDiamond Stuff
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #19 on: August 02, 2013, 13:21 »

I've always liked the ASCII. It makes me feel at home or something, some sort of feeling of nostalgia from when I first discovered DoomRL. I also like how you can see the whole map at once, and it leaves alot to imagination.

That said, I do enjoy playing it fullscreen with tiles every now and then.
Logged
Do not muddle in the affairs of Dragons, for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup.

Ashannar

  • Elder
  • Second Lieutenant
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 187
  • Shottyhead Aficionado
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #20 on: August 03, 2013, 00:13 »

Both. Tiles are much more bearable once you alter the configuration file to make them twice as small.
Logged
Hell Baron Major (0.9.9.7) 22 18 12 1 0 0

Zoli

  • Private FC
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 6
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #21 on: August 04, 2013, 07:04 »

Tiles for me. I love the original Doom graphics. And I'm playing with mouse.
Logged

White Rider

  • Elder
  • Captain
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 252
  • Doesn't play much
    • View Profile
    • My Steam Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #22 on: August 04, 2013, 17:27 »

Tiles. But now that I can play Crawl kinda-sorta competently without a mouse I might try DoomRL in ASCII.
Logged
0.9.9.6: 10d 15h Arch-Vile Major; 6/6/2012 - 3/15/2013
0.9.9.7: 12d 9h Cyberdemon Br. General; 3/19/2013 - ?
V: 31 (5P 17S 9F) M: 32 I: 66 A: 40 | 26 24 19 8 1 0

dougjoe2e

  • Elder
  • Lance Corporal
  • *
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 34
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #23 on: August 24, 2013, 18:25 »

ASCII.  Like others have commented, I like being able to see the whole map at once.  i tried the tile mode a few times (and again, as others have said the tiles are well done) and it just didn't click for me for some reason.

And, as a side note, I like the availability of the low-quality download too... the difference between 100 MB and 5 MB is a big deal for my crappy internet connection.
Logged
0.9.9.1:Arch-Vile Colonel [19/19/12/3/0]
0.9.9.2:Hell Baron Captain [21/12/7/1/0]
0.9.9.3:Mancubus 2nd Lieutenant  [18/9/7/1/0]
0.9.9.4:Mancubus 2nd Lieutenant  [17/9/7/1/0]

Yholl

  • Private FC
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 19
  • Ammochaining lunatic
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #24 on: August 25, 2013, 18:15 »

Tiles. A picture is worth a thousand letters, I guess. Is that a Cacodemon? Yes. Also, does ASCII even have entities shifting from one tile to another when they move, or do they just blink there instantly? Smooth movement helps identify things threats even more. ASCII is offputting for me because my brain needs to do the extra work of identifying that letter/symbol and remembering what it's even supposed to be, instead of just looking at the graphic of a Cacodemon.
Logged

Delta Falcon

  • Private
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
  • Lost Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Tiles or ASCII?
« Reply #25 on: August 26, 2013, 18:25 »

I was always used to the ASCII, but I recently learned of the mode with tiles, and I've come to enjoy that even more.
Logged
Pages: 1 [2]  All